Chakras For Beginners

If you have ever taken a yoga class, then you have probably heard your instructor mention chakras. Chakra, which means wheel or circle, is an ancient spirituality that focuses on your body’s energy. The chakras are described as spinning dishes of energy along your spine that can affect your life and body.

Blocked or unhealthy chakras are often associated with poor physical and mental health and disruptions to your body’s energy. While there can be more than 100 chakras in your body, the seven main chakras align themselves from the bottom of your spine to the top of your head.

The Root Chakra

The root chakra is the base for the other six main chakras and sits at the bottom of your spine. A healthy root chakra will give you the feeling of being grounded, secure, and confident. It is often associated with physical strength and security and controls survival issues you may encounter. If your root chakra is blocked, you might feel unstable and threatened. This chakra is associated with the color red, and its element is the earth.

The Sacral Chakra

The sacral chakra is the next one up from the root and is located in the naval or lower abdomen area. This chakra helps you connect to your emotions and the emotions of others. The sacral chakra controls your sexual and creative energies. If this chakra is blocked, you might feel a lack of control over your life. The sacral chakra’s color is orange, and its element is water.

The Solar Plexus Chakra

The solar plexus chakra connects to your confidence, self-worth, and control of your life. This chakra sits in your upper abdomen area. A blocked solar plexus chakra will result in feelings of self-doubt, shame, and digestive issues. Its color is yellow, and its element is fire.

The Heart Chakra

The heart chakra rests in the chest and acts as the connection between the upper and lower chakras. This chakra helps you not only love others but also receive love from others. A healthy, open chakra will make it easy for you to love, show compassion, and empathize with others while a blocked heart chakra can make it difficult for you to love and open up to others. The heart chakra’s color is green, and its element is air.

The Throat Chakra

The throat chakra is conveniently named as it sits in the throat. It gives a voice to the heart chakra and gives you the ability to express yourself clearly. If your throat chakra is blocked, you might have trouble expressing yourself and communicating with others. Its color is light blue or turquoise. Its element is sound.

The Third Eye Chakra

The third eye chakra is found between your brow bone and allows you to see beyond your situation. A healthy third eye chakra gives you a clear intuition. It is associated with dark blues and purples, and its element is light.

The Crown Chakra

The crown chakra is the last main chakras and is located at the crown of your head. A healthy and fully open crown chakra is very difficult to achieve. A healthy crown chakra allows you to connect to your spirituality and the other chakras fully and completely. Its colors are white and violet, and its element is divine consciousness.

Keeping all of your chakras healthy and open is essential to your overall health and well-being. While there are specific ways to keep a chakra healthy, it is believed that frequent mediation, reiki, yoga, and even energetic practices can keep all chakras balanced and open. It is also recommended that you frequently examine the different areas of your life to determine where any imbalances might be coming from that are hurting your chakras.

  • Adelaide Sweet

    Meet Adelaide, a professional wellness coach and astrologer with over a decade of experience in helping clients achieve their health and wellness goals through personalized coaching and astrological insights.

    Author Specialties: Self-Love, Wellness, and Meditation