OXFORD — The Pac-12 conference has released a statement on the officiating decisions made at the end of the Ole Miss game against California on Saturday.The conference said it would have supported instant replay when Elijah Moore caught a pass near the goal line while going to the ground in the final seconds of Cal’s 28-20 win, according to a statement released late Sunday night. An official standing on the goal line with a view of Moore ruled the ball short of the end zone.”Even though the receiver’s feet are in the end zone, the ball has not penetrated the plane of the goal line as is required by rule,” David Coleman, Pac-12 vice president of officiating, said in a video published along with the statement.The Rebels had a chance to score on fourth down with time expiring, but the Golden Bears stuffed John Rhys Plumlee short of the goal line on a quarterback sneak. The Pac-12 said the referees ruled correctly on the pass and the quarterback sneak, and there was “no irrefutable video evidence to reverse those calls by replay.”Many Ole Miss fans might disagree. They have shared countless images on social media showing what appears to be a touchdown for Moore. Many college football experts were surprised that the referees did not stop the game to review the spot on the catch.Replay officials saw an angle of Moore’s catch from down the goal line prior to the final play and determined there was “no irrefutable video evidence that there was a touchdown on the third down reception,” the Pac-12 said in a statement.”However, the Conference acknowledged that Instant Replay should have used better judgement to stop play for a formal review of the third down play,” the statement said. “Had there been a formal review, and by using all available broadcast video, there was no irrefutable video evidence that the ruling short of the goal line on the pass play could be overturned to a touchdown and the call on the field of no touchdown would have stood.”Ole Miss had zero timeouts left, so the Rebels hurried to the line of scrimmage for an unsuccessful quarterback sneak before time ran out. Keith Carter, the interim athletic director for Ole Miss, questioned the spot on the final play as well. It was reviewed before the game was finalized, and the replay officials determined the quarterback sneak was not a touchdown and the ruling on the field stood.The Cal-Ole Miss game marked the second time in two weeks Pac-12 officials were involved in a controversial late-game scenario. In a game between Arizona State and Michigan State, officials failed to call a leaping penalty against Arizona State on a Michigan State field goal as time expired in the fourth quarter. The day after the incident, the Pac-12 released a statement explaining the error and admitting the penalty should’ve been called and should’ve afforded Michigan State an untimed down.